contents | table of contents | accessibility statement

Anthropology Unit

Anthropology Unit | University of Geneva

Human genomic population structure and phenotype-genotype variation in ADME genes along a latitudinal transect from Africa to Europe

Project scope

Physicians observe very often that their patients can react differently to the same medical treatment: for some of them, the drug will prove inefficient, whereas for others it might provoke side-effects, sometimes rather serious. Such differences in response to drug intake are due to several factors, of which molecular variations in specific genes, named « ADME ». This acronym stems from the fact that, after ingestion of a chemical compound, these genes are involved in its Absorption in the circulatory system, its Distribution to given tissues, its Metabolism in the liver and/or its Excretion from the organism. This project aims at investigating the evolutionary mechanisms responsible for the diversity of ADME genes in human populations. Thanks to local and international collaborations, the project will document, through the use of bioinformatics and biostatistics tools, the variability of ADME genotypes and phenotypes in targeted populations.

  • Do we find the same ADME variants in different populations ? If so, do we find them at similar frequencies?
  • Do we find similar genotype-phenotype associations in all populations?

This information will be integrated in analyses aimed at evidencing the relative influence of demographic history, on one hand, and of natural selection on the other, on the genetic and genomic structure of populations in ADME regions.

  • Does the history of human migrations explain the diversity observed in ADME genes?
  • Should we rather invoke an effect of the chemical environment, which would have exerted population-specific selective pressures?
Map

Because of their role at the interface between the organism and its chemical environment, ADME genes are likely targets of recent selective pressures linked to changes in the environments in which humans evolved, such as changes in dietary habits for instance. We will couple a « top-down » approach to identify genomic ADME regions that are different between populations, with a « bottom-up » approach to detect « gene-response » associations common to several populations, so as to determine which ADME genes or sets of genes might have undergone recent selective pressures, and of what type. This project is thus intended to evidence the evolutionary mechanisms that shaped genomic regions that are functionally important from the clinical and epidemiological point of view. It will allow us to extend the knowledge of human molecular diversity and its evolution to a key-region of the peopling history of our species.

Swiss FNS logo

A research project funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (grant 320030_159669, Applicant Dr Estella Poloni)

Internal collaborators

External collaborators

  • Dr Jules Desmeules, co-Applicant (HUG Geneva)
  • Dr Youssef Daali, co-Applicant (HUG Geneva)
  • Dr Mylène Docquier (iGE3 Genomics platform)
  • Dr Viktor Cerny (Charles University)
  • Dr Getnet Yimer (Addis Ababa University)
  • Dr Constantinos Deltas (University of Cyprus)
  • Dr Said Al-Yahyaee (Sultan Qaboos University)
  • Dr Sotiria Boukouvala (Democritus University of Thrace)
University of Geneva
Dpt. of Genetic & Evolution
Anthropology Unit
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Switzerland
Ph +41 22 379 69 67
Fax +41 22 379 31 94

contenu | table des matières | déclaration d'accessibilité'

Unité d'anthropologie

Unité d'anthropologie | Université de Genève

Structure génomique des populations et variations génotype-phénotype de gènes ADME le long d’un transect latitudinal de l’Afrique à l’Europe

Description du projet

Les praticiens observent souvent au quotidien que leurs patients peuvent répondre de manière différente à un même traitement médicamenteux : chez certains, celui-ci se révèle inefficace alors que chez d’autres il provoque des effets secondaires, parfois graves. Ces différences relèvent de plusieurs facteurs, dont des variations moléculaires dans des gènes spécifiques, dits « ADME » parce qu’ils sont impliqués, lors de la prise d’une substance chimique, dans son Absorption dans le système circulatoire, dans sa Distribution vers certains tissus, dans sa Métabolisation par le foie, et/ou dans son Elimination de l’organisme. Ce projet s’intéresse aux mécanismes évolutifs responsables de la diversité de ces gènes dans les populations humaines. Grâce à des collaborations locales et internationales, le projet documentera, avec des outils bioinformatiques et biostatistiques, la variabilité de génotypes et phénotypes ADME dans des populations ciblées.

  • Trouve-t-on les mêmes variants ADME dans différentes populations ? Et si c’est le cas, est-ce à des fréquences similaires?
  • Trouve-t-on les mêmes associations génoytpe-phénotype dans toutes les populations?

Ces informations seront intégrées dans des analyses visant à mettre en évidence l’influence relative de l’histoire démographique, d’une part, et de la sélection naturelle, de l’autre, sur la structure génétique et génomique des populations dans les régions ADME.

  • Est-ce que l’histoire des migrations humaines permet d’expliquer la diversité observée dans les gènes ADME?
  • Doit-on, au contraire, invoquer un effet de l’environnement chimique, qui aurait exercé des pressions sélectives particulières selon les populations?
Map

De par leur fonction à l’interface entre l’organisme et son environnement chimique, il est vraisemblable que les gènes ADME aient été la cible de pressions de sélection récentes, liées à des changements dans les environnements dans lesquels les humains évoluent, comme par exemple des changements de régime alimentaire. Nous couplerons une approche « top-down », pour identifier des régions génomiques ADME différentes entre populations, à une approche « bottom-up », pour détecter des associations « gène-réponse » communes à plusieurs populations, afin de déterminer quels gènes ou ensembles de gènes ADME ont pu subir des pressions sélectives récentes, et de quel type. Ce projet, qui relève de la recherche fondamentale, vise à mettre en évidence les mécanismes évolutifs qui ont façonné des régions génomiques fonctionnellement importantes du point de vue clinique et épidémiologique. Il nous permettra d’étendre à une région-clé de l’histoire du peuplement de notre espèce les connaissances sur la diversité moléculaire humaine et son évolution.

Swiss FNS logo

Projet de recherche financé par le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique (fonds 320030_159669, requérant Dr Estella Poloni)

Collaborateurs internes

Collaborateurs externes

  • Dr Jules Desmeules, co-requérant (HUG Geneva)
  • Dr Youssef Daali, co-requérant (HUG Geneva)
  • Dr Mylène Docquier (iGE3 Genomics platform)
  • Dr Viktor Cerny (Charles University)
  • Dr Getnet Yimer (Addis Ababa University)
  • Dr Constantinos Deltas (University of Cyprus)
  • Dr Said Al-Yahyaee (Sultan Qaboos University)
  • Dr Sotiria Boukouvala (Democritus University of Thrace)
Université de Genève
Dépt. de Génétique & Evolution
Unité d'anthropologie
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Suisse
Tél. +41 22 379 69 67
Fax. +41 22 379 31 94