contents | table of contents | accessibility statement

Anthropology Unit

Anthropology Unit | University of Geneva

Function of ceramic productions and economy in West Africa (2015-15)

Project scope

The function of pottery has long been a topic for research by archaeologists who, through this aspect, aim to reconstruct dietary, technical, medicinal and even ritual practices by past populations. If definition of the different indices for pottery use has been considerably refined over the last two decades, their interpretation remains complex. Ethnographic reference databases focused on this topic are rare and, in addition, often confined to a single functional class of pottery (cooking pots, beer vessels, etc.) from a specific community (the Kalinga, the Gamo, etc.).

Our study aims to compensate for this lack of interpretive models for pottery use. To do so, we have developed a recording method for the most diagnostic functional criteria, including morphometry (form, dimensions, volume) and traces of utilisation (use-wear and residues). The study protocol was tested on a collection of worn pots being part of the Malian ethnographic ceramics collection at the University of Geneva and National Museum of Bamako. This collection, assembled and documented in 1995 from ten different traditions, covers the range of known functions in this region. The method was then applied to document the use of pottery in the Bedik Country in Eastern Senegal during a field survey conducted in February 2016. This survey focused on functions still represented in current use. We have been able to sample several of them for “blind” chemical and phytoliths analysis, in order to establish new protocols of research.

Another aspect of this research focuses on the identification of functions of ceramic fragments recovered and modified after their rejection, numerous on some archaeological sites but barely studied. In fact, very few collections of modified sherds have been subject to a use-wear analysis based on experimental archaeology. This approach is an effective tool for distinguishing marks resulting from the shaping of objects and those of use. Furthermore, use-wear analysis can infer the nature of materials worked and the user’s gestures. The settlement mounds of Sadia (Dogon Country, Mali), dated between the 8th and 13th century AD, have delivered a substantial collection of ceramic shards that show alterations, abrasions and residues. The analysis of these objects compared with experimental results led to the individualization of several functional categories of artifacts. Scraping and crushing of coloring mineral material are well documented, as seems to be the use of certain fragments as tools for the manufacturing of pottery.

The results of this research, by building interpretive reference databases adapted to archaeological questions, will contribute to a better understanding of pottery use in past societies.

SATW logo

A research project funded by the « Germaine de Staël » Programme (grant 2015-15, Applicant Dr Anne Mayor)

Internal collaborators

External collaborators

  • Vieugué Julien (CNRS, Paris Ouest Nanterre la Défense)
University of Geneva
Dpt. of Genetic & Evolution
Anthropology Unit
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Switzerland
Ph +41 22 379 69 67
Fax +41 22 379 31 94

contenu | table des matières | déclaration d'accessibilité'

Unité d'anthropologie

Unité d'anthropologie | Université de Genève

Fonction des productions céramiques et économie en Afrique de l’Ouest (2015-15)

Description du projet

Les archéologues s’interrogent depuis longtemps sur la fonction des céramiques, cherchant par ce biais à reconstruire les pratiques alimentaires, techniques, médicinales, voire rituelles des populations du passé. Si la caractérisation des divers indices de l’usage des poteries s’est considérablement affinée ces deux dernières décennies, leur interprétation reste souvent problématique. Les référentiels ethnographiques ciblés sur cette thématique s’avèrent peu nombreux. Ils sont, de surcroît, souvent cantonnés à une seule classe fonctionnelle de poteries (pots à cuire, vases à bière, etc.) d'une communauté spécifique (les Kalinga, les Gamo, etc.).

Notre étude vise à pallier ce manque de modèles interprétatifs sur les usages de la poterie. Pour ce faire, nous avons mis au point une méthode d’enregistrement des critères fonctionnels les plus diagnostiques incluant morphométrie (forme, dimensions, volume) et traces d'utilisation (usures et résidus) des céramiques. Le protocole d'étude a été testé sur une collection de céramiques ethnographiques maliennes usagées et bien documentées, répartie entre l'Université de Genève et le Musée national de Bamako. Cette collection, rassemblée et documentée en 1995 par une équipe de l’université de Genève au sein de plusieurs traditions différentes, couvre tout l'éventail des fonctions connues dans cette région. La méthode a par la suite servi à documenter l'usage des poteries du pays bédik, au Sénégal oriental, lors d’une enquête de terrain conduite en février 2016. Cette enquête a porté sur l'ensemble des fonctions encore représentées dans les services actuels, et a permis de ramener quelques céramiques usagées de fonctionnement et de contenus connus, destinées à des analyses chimiques et phytolithiques « à l’aveugle » en vue d’établir de nouvelles voies de recherche.

Un autre volet de ce projet s’intéresse à la fonction des tessons de céramique modifiés, présents sur de nombreux sites archéologiques mais rarement étudiés. De fait, très rares sont les collections de tels artefacts qui ont fait l’objet d’une analyse tracéologique fondée sur l’expérimentation. Cette démarche constitue pourtant un outil efficace pour, d’une part, distinguer les traces de mise en forme des stigmates d’utilisation et, d’autre part, pour inférer la nature des matières travaillées et les gestes des utilisateurs. Le site d’habitat de Sadia (Pays dogon, Mali), daté entre le 8ème et le 13ème siècle AD, a livré un important corpus de tessons qui présentent des retouches, des abrasions et des résidus. L’analyse de ces objets recyclés par comparaison avec un référentiel expérimental a conduit à l’individualisation de plusieurs catégories fonctionnelles distinctes, dont le raclage et le concassage de matière minérale colorante et l’utilisation probable de certains fragments comme outils de fabrication des poteries.

Les résultats de cette recherche, par le biais de la construction de référentiels interprétatifs adaptés aux questionnements archéologiques, doivent contribuer à une meilleure compréhension de l'usage des poteries dans les sociétés anciennes.

SATW logo

Projet de recherche financé par le Programme « Germaine de Staël » (fond 2015-15, Requérant Dr Anne Mayor)

Collaborateurs internes

Collaborateurs externes

  • Vieugué Julien (CNRS, Paris Ouest Nanterre la Défense)
Université de Genève
Dépt. de Génétique & Evolution
Unité d'anthropologie
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Suisse
Tél. +41 22 379 69 67
Fax. +41 22 379 31 94