contents | table of contents | accessibility statement

Anthropology Unit

Anthropology Unit | University of Geneva

Gonja Project – The Archaeology of Gonja and the Islamisation of Northern Ghana

Project scope

The Gonja Project is a collaborative project between the University of Geneva (Laboratoire Archéologie et Peuplement de l’Afrique, Unité d’Anthropologie) and the University of Ghana (Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies). It is co-directed by Dr Denis Genequand, Dr Wazi Apoh and Prof. Kodzo Gavua. The project is supported by the Swiss-Liechtenstein Foundation for Archaeological Research Abroad (SLSA, Zürich).

The state or kingdom of Gonja emerged in the mid-16th century in the savannah area extending to the north of the tropical forest in modern Ghana. According to historical and oral traditions, its origins go back to the arrival of Mande conquerors who came from the area of Djenne to take control of the gold trade from the mines situated around Buna and Beghu. Following their successful raid, instead of going back to Mali, these conquerors crossed the Black Volta once again and, after a series of military conquests towards the east, established themselves in the area known as Gonja.

Excavations in Old Buipe
Excavations in Old Buipe
Mosque of Banda Nkwanta
Mosque of Banda Nkwanta

Due to its geographical position, the kingdom essentially became a cross-roads at the southern extremity of the sub-Saharan trade routes between the Niger and the tropical forest area. The towns of Gonja progressively took over the markets of Beghu and other towns to the south and west of the Black Volta.

The islamisation of the region was one consequence of the conquest and of the creation of a new kingdom involved with the Niger trade. It was probably also helped by an alliance between the Ngbanya (royal clan or family of Gonja) and Muslim Wangaras. At its greatest extent, Gonja covered all the area between the loop of the Black Volta and the White Volta, as well as a very large area to the west of the White Volta. Though historians generally accept the Malian (Mande) origin of the first conquerors because it is corroborated by the textual sources and oral traditions, other scholars reject it and are more prone to see in Gonja a group with Akan origins, for linguistic reasons in particular.

The general aims of the project are the study of the islamisation of Northern Ghana from the 16th century onwards through the archaeological study of the Gonja state. Two research branches were defined. The first and the most important is the detailed study of Old Buipe (Northern Region), one of the major archaeological sites of Gonja. It includes topographic survey, soundings and extensive excavations to document the ancient phases of the town (15th to 18th-19th centuries) as thoroughly as possible. The second branch, of somewhat lesser importance but complementary to the first, is a renewed inquiry into the architecture and the date of construction of some of the last surviving traditional mosques of Northern Ghana, the majority of which are situated in the territory of Gonja and the origins of which are still uncertain (mosques of Bole, Larabanga, Banda Nkwanta, etc.).

SATW logo

A research project funded by the Swiss Liechtenstein Foundation for Archaeological Research Abroad (Applicant Dr Denis Genequand)

Internal collaborators

External collaborators

  • Wazi Apoh (University of Ghana, Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies)
  • Kodzo Gavua (University of Ghana, Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies)
  • Hugo Amoroso (Site et musée romain d'Avenches)
  • Irka Hajdas (ETH Zürich, Laboratory for Ion Beam Physics)
  • Fabien Maret (Tera, Sion)
  • Christian de Reynier (Office du patrimoine et de l'archéologie, Neuchâtel)
University of Geneva
Dpt. of Genetic & Evolution
Anthropology Unit
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Switzerland
Ph +41 22 379 69 67
Fax +41 22 379 31 94

contenu | table des matières | déclaration d'accessibilité'

Unité d'anthropologie

Unité d'anthropologie | Université de Genève

Gonja Project – L’archéologie de Gonja et l’islamisation du nord du Ghana

Description du projet

Le projet Gonja se fait dans le cadre d’un partenariat entre l’Université de Genève (Laboratoire Archéologie et Peuplement de l’Afrique, Unité d’Anthropologie) et l’Université du Ghana (Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies). Il est codirigé par les Dr Denis Genequand, Dr Wazi Apoh et le prof. Kodzo Gavua. Le projet est soutenu par la Fondation Suisse-Liechtenstein pour les recherches archéologiques à l’étranger (SLSA, Zürich).

Le royaume de Gonja s’est formé au milieu du 16e siècle dans la zone de savane s’étendant au nord de la forêt tropicale. Selon les traditions historiques et orales, son origine est due à l’arrivée d’envahisseurs Mandés venus de la région de Djenné pour reprendre le contrôle du commerce de l’or des mines de la région de Buna et Beghu. Après leur raid, au lieu de retourner au Mali, les troupes ont retraversé la Volta Noire et se sont établies dans la région connue sous le nom de Gonja à la suite d’une série de guerres de conquête.

Fouilles à Old Buipe
Fouilles à Old Buipe
Mosquée de Banda Nkwanta
Mosquée de Banda Nkwanta

La position géographique du royaume en a fait un intermédiaire indispensable à l’extrémité méridionale des routes du commerce sub-saharien entre le Niger et la forêt tropicale. Les villes de Gonja ont progressivement pris le pas sur les marchés de Beghu et des autres villes au sud et à l’ouest de la Volta Noire.

L’islamisation de la région fut l’un des effets de la conquête et de la création d’un nouveau royaume impliqué dans le commerce avec le nord, sans doute aidée par une alliance entre les Ngbanya (clan ou famille royale de Gonja) et des Wangara musulmans. Dans son extension maximale, Gonja a couvert toute la zone comprise entre la boucle de la Volta Noire et la Volta Blanche, ainsi qu’une large zone à l’est de la Volta Blanche. Si l’origine malienne (Mandé) des premiers envahisseurs est généralement admise par les historiens, car corroborée par les sources textuelles et les tradition orales, elle est rejetée par d’autres qui y verraient plutôt un groupe d’origine Akan, en particulier pour des raisons linguistiques.

Les objectifs principaux du projet sont d’étudier l’islamisation du nord du Ghana à partir du 16e siècle et de reprendre l’étude archéologique du royaume de Gonja. Deux axes de recherches ont été définis. Le premier et le plus important est l’étude monographique d’un site majeur, en l’occurrence Old Buipe, en recourant à des relevés topographique et à des fouilles extensives pour documenter les états anciens de la ville et son évolution du 15e au 18e-19e siècle. Le second, de moindre importance mais très complémentaire, s’attache à l’étude architecturale et à la datation de quelques unes des dernières mosquées traditionnelles du nord du Ghana, dont la majorité se trouve sur le territoire de Gonja et dont les origines sont encore mal connues (mosquées de Bole, Larabanga, Banda Nkwanta, etc.).

SATW logo

Projet de recherche financé par la Fondation Suisse-Liechtenstein pour les recherches archéologiques à l’étranger (Requérant Dr Denis Genequand)

Collaborateurs internes

Collaborateurs externes

  • Wazi Apoh (University of Ghana, Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies)
  • Kodzo Gavua (University of Ghana, Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies)
  • Hugo Amoroso (Site et musée romain d'Avenches)
  • Irka Hajdas (ETH Zürich, Laboratory for Ion Beam Physics)
  • Fabien Maret (Tera, Sion)
  • Christian de Reynier (Office du patrimoine et de l'archéologie, Neuchâtel)
Université de Genève
Dépt. de Génétique & Evolution
Unité d'anthropologie
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Suisse
Tél. +41 22 379 69 67
Fax. +41 22 379 31 94