contents | table of contents | accessibility statement

Anthropology Unit

Anthropology Unit | University of Geneva

Alicia Sanchez-Mazas

Professeure ordinaire

Full Professor

Head of the Laboratory of Anthropology, Genetics and Peopling history (AGP)

Teaching and Research in anthropology, evolution and human population genetics

Academic responsabilities

Vice-head and students' advisor for the Biology Section

Presentation

My main scientific interest is to understand the genetic diversity of human populations in an evolutionary context: how to explain the differences and resemblances currently observed between individuals within populations and between populations worldwide? What does this genetic variation tell us about, on one hand, the history of our species and, on the other hand, the molecular evolution of different regions of our genome?

The major histocompatibility complex in humans, HLA, is the focus of my investigations. It is both the most polymorphic locus of our genome and the most directly involved in the adaptive immune response and the rejection of tissular transplants. Therefore, it is not only interesting for research in human evolution, but also for the understanding of genetic susceptibility or resistance to diseases and for the search of compatible bone marrow or organ donors for patients needing a transplant. Our research is thus also motivated by public health issues.

Watch the video (in french) on the TSR site

Since 1996, my group, with Dr José Nunes, plays an important role in the international coordination of research on the molecular diversity of the HLA system within the framework of successive International HLA and Immunogenetics Workshops (IHIW). Since 2009, we also lead HLA-NET (http://hla-net.eu), a large European network aiming at implementing population data, standards of analysis, aswell as statistical and computer tools for the study of HLA diversity at the population level. Such developments are essential both for analyzing human genetic evolution and for searching compatible donors in transplantation. In this context, we closely collaborate with the National Reference Laboratory for Histocompatibility (LNHR) located in the HUG (Dr J-M Tiercy and J.Villard) and the Swiss Blood Stem Cells Foundation which manages the national registries of stem cells donors in Bern.

Within the framework of our investigations on human peopling history, we adopt an interdisciplinary approach according to which our genetic results are faced to paleontology (study of fossils), prehistoric archaeology (study of cultural vestiges), historical linguistics (study of the evolution of language families),and epidemiology (study of pathogens, diseases and their evolution). In this context, we collaborate with different teams of anthropologists, archaeologists, linguists and geneticists. Our projects, regularly funded by the National Swiss Foundation for Scientific Research (FNS) for more than 20 years, addresses questions related to the genetic history of diverse continents of which sub-Saharan Africa, the likely homeland of modern humans, but also East Asia and Europe.

At the level of the genome, our works lead us to propose essential hypotheses on the molecular mechanisms governing the evolution of the HLA system (asymmetric balancing selection or purifying selection, depending on the loci). This mode of evolution is compared with that of other human polymorphisms, such as classical markers and, in collaboration with Dr E. Poloni, mitochondrial DNA and Y-chromosome polymorphisms. The experimental approaches by computer simulation developed by Dr Mr Currat also serve us, for some years, to test the likelihood of the scenarios of peopling history proposed in our projects and to estimate quantitatively the effects of natural selection on the evolution of the HLA system.

Alicia Sanchez-Mazas
Alicia Sanchez-Mazas
University of Geneva
Dpt. of Genetic & Evolution
Anthropology Unit
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Switzerland
Ph +41 22 379 69 67
Fax +41 22 379 31 94

contenu | table des matières | déclaration d'accessibilité'

Unité d'anthropologie

Unité d'anthropologie | Université de Genève

Alicia Sanchez-Mazas

Professeure ordinaire

Responsable de l'Unité d'anthropologie du Département de génétique et évolution (UA-GENEV)
Membre du Laboratoire d'anthropologie, génétique et peuplements (AGP)

Enseignements et recherches en anthropologie, évolution et génétique des populations

Responsabilités académiques

Vice-présidente et conseillère aux études de la Section de biologie

Présentation

Mon principal intérêt scientifique est de comprendre la diversité génétique des populations humaines dans un contexte évolutif: comment explique-t-on les différences et ressemblances aujourd’hui observées entre les individus au sein des populations et entre les populations à l’échelle planétaire? Que nous révèle cette variation génétique, d’une part sur l’histoire de notre espèce, d’autre part sur l’évolution moléculaire des diverses régions de notre génome ?

La région génomique qui est au centre de nos recherches est le complexe majeur d’histocompatibilité humaine HLA. A la fois le plus polymorphe du génome humain et l’un des plus impliqués dans la réponse immunitaire et le rejet des greffes tissulaires, ce système est d’un grand intérêt non seulement pour l’étude de l’évolution humaine, mais aussi pour la compréhension des prédispositions ou résistances génétiques des populations à certaines maladies, et pour la recherche de donneurs de moelle osseuse ou d’organes compatibles avec des patients nécessitant une transplantation. Nos recherches sont donc aussi motivées par des questions de santé publique.

Pour visionner la vidéo depuis le site TSR découverte

Depuis 1996, Mon groupe, avec le Dr José Nunes, joue un rôle important dans la coordination internationale des recherches sur la diversité moléculaire du système HLA dans le cadre des Workshops Internationaux HLA et Immunogénétique (IHIW). Depuis 2009, nous dirigeons aussi HLA-NET (http://hla-net.eu), un réseau financé par l’Union européenne et impliquant plus de 20 pays partenaires européens. Ce réseau a pour but la mise en place de standards d’analyse et d’outils statistiques et informatiques utiles à l’étude de la diversité HLA au niveau populationnel et indispensables tant aux recherches en évolution génétique humaine qu’à la recherche de donneurs compatibles en transplantation. Dans ce contexte, nous collaborons étroitement avec le Laboratoire national de référence pour l'histocompatibilité (LNHR) localisé aux HUG (Prof J-M Tiercy et J. Villard), et, depuis peu, avec la Fondation Swiss Blood Stem Cells, registre national des donneurs de cellules souches à Berne.

Dans le cadre de nos investigations sur l’histoire du peuplement humain, nous adoptons une approche interdisciplinaire selon laquelle nos résultats génétiques sont confrontés à ceux de la paléontologie humaine (étude des fossiles), de l’archéologie préhistorique (étude des vestiges culturels), de la linguistique historique (étude de l’évolution des familles de langues), et de l’épidémiologie (étude des pathogènes, des maladies et de leur évolution). Nos projets, financés par le Fonds National Suisse de la Recherche Scientifique (FNS) depuis plus de 20 ans, abordent des questions relatives à l’histoire génétique de divers continents dont l’Afrique sub-saharienne, probable lieu d'origine de l'espèce humaine, mais aussi l'Asie et l'Europe.

Au niveau du génome, nos travaux nous conduisent à proposer des hypothèses essentielles sur les mécanismes moléculaires gouvernant l’évolution du système HLA (sélection balancée asymétrique ou sélection purificatrice, selon les loci). Cette évolution est comparée à celle d'autres polymorphismes humains, tels que des polymorphismes classiques et, en collaboration avec le Dr E. Poloni, des marqueurs de l'ADN mitochondrial et du chromosome Y. Les approches expérimentales par simulation informatique développées par le Dr M. Currat nous servent aussi, depuis quelques années, à tester la vraisemblance des scenarios de peuplement proposés dans nos projets et à estimer quantitativement les effets de la sélection naturelle sur l'évolution du système HLA.

Alicia Sanchez-Mazas
Alicia Sanchez-Mazas
Université de Genève
Dépt. de Génétique & Evolution
Unité d'anthropologie
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Suisse
Tél. +41 22 379 69 67
Fax. +41 22 379 31 94