contents | table of contents | accessibility statement

Anthropology Unit

Anthropology Unit | University of Geneva

Claudio Quilodran

PhD

PhD student in Laboratory of anthropology, genetics and peopling history and in Laboratory of Molecular phylogeny and evolution in vertebrates

PhD project

Biodiversity loss by interspecific hybridization

Natural hybridization has played an important role in the evolution of many plant and animal taxa. However, when hybridization is caused by anthropogenic factors it may lead to serious consequences for biological conservation. This is particularly true in native rare or threatened species, because if the population size is too small we expect a gradual replacement of their genotype by hybrids.

This research project aims to model the impact of anthropogenic changes on the genetic integrity of organisms due to interspecific hybridization. We will highlight the potential effects of exotic invasive species and habitat modifications, due in particular to global climate change.

The final goal of this project is to estimate under which conditions the increasing rate of hybridization can affect the extinction risk of organisms and to provide guidance concerning the kind of data required to propose potential conservation strategies.

For more information please consult the website of my PhD project

Claudio Quilodran
Claudio Quilodran
University of Geneva
Dpt. of Genetic & Evolution
Anthropology Unit
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Switzerland
Ph +41 22 379 69 67
Fax +41 22 379 31 94

contenu | table des matières | déclaration d'accessibilité'

Unité d'anthropologie

Unité d'anthropologie | Université de Genève

Claudio Quilodran

Post-doc

Assistant-doctorant dans le Laboratoire d'anthropologie, génétique et peuplements et dans le Laboratoire de phylogénie moléculaire et évolution des vertébrés

Projet de thèse

Perte de biodiversité par hybridation interspécifique

L'hybridation est un processus naturel qui a eu un rôle important dans l'évolution de plusieurs groupes de plantes et d’animaux. Cependant, quand l'hybridation est due à un facteur humain, elle peut avoir de sérieuses conséquences pour la conservation de la biodiversité, en particulier pour des espèces endémiques rares ou menacées d’extinction, car si la taille de la population est trop petite, nous nous attendons à un remplacement progressif de leur génotype par des hybrides.

Ce projet de recherche vise à modéliser l'impact des modifications anthropiques sur l'intégrité génétique des organismes due à l’hybridation interspécifique. Nous mettons en évidence les effets potentiels des espèces introduites envahissantes et les modifications de l'habitat, en particulier causés par le changement climatique.

L'objectif de ce projet est d'estimer dans quelles conditions l'augmentation du taux d'hybridation peut affecter le risque d'extinction des organismes et ainsi, de fournir une orientation concernant le type de données requises pour proposer des stratégies de conservation.

Vous trouverez d'autres informations dans le site de mon Projet de thèse

Claudio Quilodran
Claudio Quilodran
Université de Genève
Dépt. de Génétique & Evolution
Unité d'anthropologie
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Suisse
Tél. +41 22 379 69 67
Fax. +41 22 379 31 94