contents | table of contents | accessibility statement

Anthropology Unit

Anthropology Unit | University of Geneva

Eric Huysecom

Professeur associé

Research

25 years of research have focused on the understanding of the history of human population, with the means of different approaches (prehistory, ethnoarchaeology, numismatic), both in Europe and in Africa.


Current research

The study of the human population in West Africa and its relation to climatic and environmental changes; emergence of the African Neolithic

The study of the human population in West Africa and its relation to climatic and environmental changes; emergence of the African Neolithic.

Our excavations in Mali, started in 1985, have allowed us to discover an original Neolithic industry which we named the 'Neolithic facies of the Baoulé' and which evidenced for the first time a line of retreat of the populations, from the Malian Sahara to the Atlantic coast at the Cap Vert, as a consequence of the increasing aridification of the Sahara since 2800 BC.

This subject has been taken up again and enlarged since 1996, as a result of the discovering of the site of Ounjougou (Dogon country, Mali), which consists of several dozen archaeological sites spread over an area of more than 10 km2. The particular geomorphologic setting of the site allows us to study a stratigraphic sequence of over 16 meter, displaying archaeological material from the Lower Palaeolithic until today. Exceptionally for sub-Saharan Africa, the levels offer a wealth of micro- and macroplant remains.

The richness of the site made us set up the international and multidisciplinary research program «Human population and paleoenvironment in West Africa» whose general objective is the study of the past and present population history as well as the analysis of the reactions and responses of the different populations to climatic and environmental variations. Furthermore, we attempt to put the findings of Ounjougou into the context of the population history of the sudano-sahelian zone, to identify relations between that area, the Sahara and the southern tropical forest and to reveal the emergence and/or diffusion of certain technologies. In order to achieve our objectives, we have set up a multidisciplinary team, which allows us to do highly synergetic research work in a number of disciplines: archaeology, geomorphology, sedimentology, paleoclimatology, botany, ethnoarchaeology, ethnohistory, linguistics, paleometallurgy and hopefully in the near future, genetics.

This multidisciplinary research program which is under the auspices of the Malian and Swiss commissions of the UNESCO is in full development and the team consists today of 26 researchers from 11 universities and institutions in Switzerland, Mali, France, the United Kingdom and Germany.

Our personal research area in this project is the population movement between the end of the Pleistocene and the onset of the Holocene in the perspective of its paleoclimatic and paleoenvironmental context and the different adaptations of the way of living which lead in the end to the African Neolithic». The recent discovery of grinding implements and pottery (in a well defined geological and archaeobotanical setting) counting amongst the oldest of such artefacts even worldwide allows us to improve our understanding of phenomena of techno-economic inventions.

Parallel studies of African rock art allow us to differentiate several well individualised styles and to associate them to separate phases of the peopling of the continent.


The ethnoarchaeology of pottery, metallurgy and economy

The ethnoarchaeology of pottery, metallurgy and economy.

We define ethnoarchaeology as displaying regular links which exist between the material culture of today's populations and its meaning. In analogy to this, these «regularities» allow us to interpret artifacts found at archaeological sites by means of a constructed context of reference.

This approach has been applied since 1988 for the study of today's pottery of the Inland Niger Delta. It allowed us an ethnical, functional and technical interpretation of the ceramics found during the excavation of the site of Hamdallahi, the capital of the Fulani Empire of Massina. This site is chronologically and geographically close to the study area.

On a larger scale, this study has made it possible to interpret a potters implement, the clay pestles and to show the diffusion of a mounting technique for pottery which is original to Africa and common in the whole sudano-sahelian area from Sudan to Mali, and this since the Iron Age. This study has been taken up recently and shows that this technique might be related to the peopling of Nilo-Saharan speakers.

Additionally, ethnoarchaeology has also been used for a study of the metallurgy of the Dogon people, which allowed us to observe, describe and film the traditional ways of exploitation of iron ore, the construction of a furnace, and the reduction of the ore and the smiting of the iron. This study has ended in the making of a scientific documentary movie (Inagina, the last house of iron, translated into several languages) and has encouraged us to go further with an interdisciplinary study of the population history of the Dogon blacksmiths, by using data issuing from archaeological, historical, linguistic, archaeobotanical and paleometallurgical research. At present, this aspect is part of the research project discussed under topic 1.

The analysis of the way of life of the people living at present in Africa has helped to redefine the concept of the «African Neolithic», a concept which suits that continent better.


Past research

North-European Megalithism and Neolithic: evidencing long-distance cultural contacts (from 1976 to 1988)

Northern-European Megalithism and Neolithic: evidencing long-distance cultural contacts.

Our studies between 1976 and 1988 have focused on megalithic burials in north-western Europe and the evidencing of cultural links between final Neolithic population in northern Germany and the Franco-Belgian area, precisely between the Wartberg and the Seine-Oise-Marne populations. In addition, we put a particular interest in long-distance cultural contacts during the European Final Neolithic. Our research, focusing particularly on a certain type of pottery, the collared bottles, and on burials, which we named «collective funerary huts» allowed us to show eats-west relations during the European Final Neolithic between Ukrania and Brittany.


Roman and Celtic numismatics (from 1973 to 1988)

Roman and Celtic numismatics.

Apart from several studies on Roman numismatics focusing on beforehand unknown minting workshops, several results of research in Celtic numismatic have been undertaken and published between 1973 and 1988. As a result, a new approach to Celtic coins has been proposed due to the concept of the «circulation spectrum». These studies have also allowed us to precise the data for the Celtic population of Gallia Belgica and to propose a new chronology of the production of money during the first two century BC.

Eric Huysecom
Eric Huysecom
University of Geneva
Dpt. of Genetic & Evolution
Anthropology Unit
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Switzerland
Ph +41 22 379 69 67
Fax +41 22 379 31 94

contenu | table des matières | déclaration d'accessibilité'

Unité d'anthropologie

Unité d'anthropologie | Université de Genève

Eric Huysecom

Professeur associé

Recherche

L'ensemble des activités de recherche, depuis 25 ans, ont porté sur la compréhension de l'histoire du peuplement humain, ceci à l'aide de différentes approches (préhistoire, ethnoarchéologie, numismatique), tant en Europe qu'en Afrique.


Recherches actuelles

Etude de peuplement humain en Afrique de occidentale et de ses relations avec les variations climatiques et environnementales, apparition du néolithique africain

Etude du peuplement humain en Afrique occidentale et de ses relations avec les variations climatiques et environnementales, apparition du néolithique africain.

Depuis 1985, nos fouilles au Mali ont permis de découvrir une culture néolithique originale, le «faciès néolithique du Baoulé» et, pour la première fois, de mettre en évidence une voie de repli de populations depuis le Sahara malien jusqu'au littoral du Cap Vert, consécutive à l'aridification du Sahara qui s'installe dès 2800 avant J.-C.

Ce thème a été repris et élargi dès 1996, grâce à la découverte du gisement d'Ounjougou (Pays dogon, Mali) qui comprend plusieurs dizaines de sites archéologiques répartis dans une zone de plus de 10 km2. La configuration géomorphologique particulière nous permet d'étudier une séquence stratigraphique de plus de 16 m de puissance, qui livre du matériel archéologique du Paléolithique ancien à l'époque actuelle, associé à des micro- et macrorestes végétaux dans un état de conservation exceptionnel pour l'Afrique au sud du Sahara.

Suite à ces découvertes, nous avons mis sur pied le programme de recherche international et interdisciplinaire "Paléoenvironnement et peuplement humain en Afrique de l'Ouest" qui a pour objectif général l'étude du peuplement humain présent et passé, ainsi que l'analyse des réponses apportées par ces populations aux variations climatiques et environnementales. Au-delà, il s'agit de replacer les découvertes d'Ounjougou dans le cadre de la dynamique du peuplement humain à l'échelle de la bande soudano-sahélienne africaine, d'identifier les relations entre cette zone et les zones sahariennes au nord et forestières au sud, et de déterminer l'apparition et/ou la diffusion de certaines technologies. Afin de remplir ces objectifs, nous avons mis en place une équipe interdisciplinaire, permettant d'entreprendre ces recherches en étroite synergie sous des angles à la fois archéologique, géomorphologique, sédimentologique, paléoclimatologique, botanique, ethnoarchéologique, ethnohistorique, linguistique, paléométallurgique et, nous l'espérons un jour, génétique.

Ce programme de recherche interdisciplinaire que nous coordonnons, sous l'égide des commissions suisse et malienne de l'UNESCO, est en plein développement et l'équipe compte actuellement 26 chercheurs appartenant à 11 institutions distinctes, suisses, maliennes, françaises, anglaise et allemande.

Au sein de ce programme, nous étudions personnellement les mouvements de populations à la charnière du Pléistocène et de l'Holocène, et les différentes adaptations des modes de vie qui mènent au «Néolithique africain», au vu de leur contexte paléoclimatique et paléoenvironnemental. La mise à jour récente, dans un environnement géologique et archéobotanique bien défini, de matériel de mouture et de céramiques comptant parmi les plus anciens vestiges de ce type connus à ce jour, à l'échelle africaine et même mondiale, nous permettent d'accéder à la compréhension des phénomènes d'invention techno-économiques.

Parallèlement, l'étude de l'art rupestre en Afrique nous permet de mettre en évidence plusieurs styles bien individualisés en relation avec différentes phases du peuplement.


Ethnoarchéologie de la céramique, de la métallurgie et des modes de vie actuels

Ethnoarchéologie de la céramique, de la métallurgie et des modes de vie actuels.

Par ethnoarchéologie, nous entendons la mise en évidence des liens réguliers existant entre les cultures matérielles des sociétés actuelles et leurs significations. Par analogie, ces «régularités» permettent l'interprétation des vestiges découverts lors des fouilles archéologiques, ceci à l'aide d'un contexte de référence construit.

Cette démarche a été suivie depuis 1988 dans le cadre de l'étude sur la céramique actuelle du Delta intérieur du Niger. Elle a permis l'interprétation ethnique, fonctionnelle et technique des vestiges archéologiques découverts sur les fouilles d'Hamdallahi, capitale de l'empire peul du Massina, site proche dans le temps et dans l'espace. Dans un contexte plus large, cette étude a autorisé l'interprétation des percuteurs d'argile, instruments de potières, et a permis de mettre en évidence la diffusion d'une technique de façonnage des céramiques propre à l'Afrique et commune dans toute la zone soudano-sahélienne du Soudan au Mali, et ce dès l'âge du fer. Cette étude a été reprise récemment et montre que cette technique pourrait être liée au peuplement des locuteurs nilo-sahariens.

D'autre part, l'ethnoarchéologie a aussi été utilisée dans le cadre d'une étude sur la métallurgie du fer chez les Dogon, qui a permis d'observer, décrire et filmer l'exploitation d'une mine, la construction d'un four, la réduction du minerai et le forgeage du fer obtenu de manière traditionnelle. Cette étude a donné lieu à la réalisation d'un film documentaire scientifique (Inagina, l'ultime maison du fer, traduit en plusieures langues) et nous a incité à poursuivre des recherches interdisciplinaires sur le peuplement des forgerons dogon, en mobilisant des données de l'archéologie, de l'histoire, de la linguistique, de la botanique, de l'archéobotanique et de la paléométallurgie. Actuellement, cet aspect est repris dans le programme de recherche évoqué dans le thème 1.

Enfin, l'analyse des modes de vie des populations vivant actuellement en Afrique a contribué à la redéfinition d'un concept de «néolithique africain», mieux adapté à ce continent.


Recherches dans le passé

Mégalithisme et néolithique nord-européen: mise en évidence de contacts culturels à longue distance (de 1976 à 1988)

Mégalithisme et néolithique nord-européen: mise en évidence de contacts culturels à longue distance.

Nos études, menées entre 1976 et 1988, ont porté sur les sépultures mégalithiques du nord-ouest de l'Europe et sur la mise en évidence de rapports culturels entre le néolithique final allemand et franco-belge, et plus précisément ceux entre les cultures de Wartberg et de Seine-Oise-Marne. Par extension, un intérêt particulier a été porté aux contacts culturels à longue distance durant le néolithique final européen. Nos recherches, menées notamment sur un type de céramique particulier, les bouteilles à collerettes, et sur des sépultures que nous avons baptisées «cabanes funéraires collectives», ont permis de mettre en évidence l'existence de relations est-ouest durant le néolithique final européen, depuis l'Ukraine jusqu'à la Bretagne.


Numismatique romaine et celtique (de 1973 à 1988)

Numismatique romaine et celtique.

Outre de nombreuses études en numismatique romaine visant la mise en évidence d'ateliers de frappe jusqu'alors inconnus, de nombreuses recherches en numismatique celtique ont été menées et publiées entre 1973 et 1988. Celles-ci ont amené à la proposition d'une nouvelle approche des monnaies celtiques trouvées en fouille grâce au concept de «spectre de circulation». Elles ont aussi permis de préciser les données sur le peuplement celtique de la Gaule belgique et à proposer une nouvelle chronologie des frappes monétaires des deux premiers siècles avant notre ère.

Eric Huysecom
Eric Huysecom
Université de Genève
Dépt. de Génétique & Evolution
Unité d'anthropologie
Quai Ernest-Ansermet 30
1205 Genève
Suisse
Tél. +41 22 379 69 67
Fax. +41 22 379 31 94